BMO

CheckingVerified Oct 9, 2026

BMO Smart Advantage Checking: $600 bonus

Receive at least $1,000 in qualifying payroll or benefit direct deposits in each of up to six monthly tracking periods, beginning the month after opening.

Direct deposits
$1,000 × 6 cycles
Cash to keep
No balance requirement
Monthly fee
$0
Apply by
Dec 15, 2026

Bonus

$600

Apply by Dec 15, 2026

View offer at BMO

Read the bank's terms · Offer terms can change. Confirm current eligibility and terms with the bank before applying.

Your fit

Add your state, direct deposit and cash to check this offer's conditions against your situation.

  • 1 thing to check: Offered in 14 states only
  • 1 thing to check: Your history with BMO

This checks the published conditions only. The bank decides who is approved.

Steps to earn

Complete all 2 steps for $600

  1. Opening deposit

    Open with at least $25.

    • $25
  2. Direct deposit

    Receive at least $1,000 in qualifying payroll or benefit direct deposits in each of up to six monthly tracking periods, beginning the month after opening.

    • $1,000
    • In each of 6 statement cycles

Timeline

Add a date to put the deadlines on a calendar. Only steps timed from opening get a date.

  1. Apply by Dec 15, 2026

  2. Open the account with $25

  3. Direct deposit

    Receive at least $1,000 in qualifying payroll or benefit direct deposits in each of up to six monthly tracking periods, beginning the month after opening.

  4. Bonus paid

    About 10 days after the beginning of the following month for each qualifying $100 installment.

Money and fees

Bonus
$600
Monthly fees
No monthly fee
Bonus after fees, before tax
$600

Cash to keep in the account

No balance to maintain

Direct deposits: $1,000 × 6 cycles

After the bonus

Account type
Checking
Monthly fee
$0
APY
Not stated in the terms we reviewed
Early closure fee
Not stated in the terms we reviewed
How to open
Not verified

Eligibility

Where it's offered

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • Iowa
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Minnesota
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Oregon
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin

Who can get it

New customers only. If you've had an account with BMO, check the look-back period in the terms.

From the bank's terms
New BMO personal checking customers in the listed states; prior ownership or a closure within 12 months disqualifies. Use the offer code. The $600 maximum is six separate $100 payments, each earned by meeting that month’s deposit test; missing a month does not disqualify later months.

Terms and sources

Checked against bmo.com on Oct 9, 2026. Next check by Oct 23, 2026.

Read the bank's terms

Offer terms can change. Confirm current eligibility and terms with the bank before applying.

Similar offers

Editorial disclosure: CardRewards.ai is an independent comparison service. Card data comes from issuers' published terms; catalog last published October 12, 2026, and each card page shows when its terms were last checked. Card issuers do not influence our rankings or content.