U.S. Bank
CheckingVerified Oct 9, 2026
U.S. Bank Smartly Checking: up to $450 bonus
Enroll in online/mobile banking and receive at least two qualifying direct deposits totaling $8,000 within 90 days of opening.
- Direct deposits
- $8,000 in 90 days
- Cash to keep
- No balance requirement
- Monthly fee
- $12/mo, waivable
- Apply by
- Nov 10, 2026
Selected target
$450
Apply by Nov 10, 2026
View offer at U.S. BankRead the bank's terms · Offer terms can change. Confirm current eligibility and terms with the bank before applying.
Your fit
Add your state, direct deposit and cash to check this offer's conditions against your situation.
- 1 thing to check: Your history with U.S. Bank
This checks the published conditions only. The bank decides who is approved.
Steps to earn
Complete all 2 steps for $450
Opening deposit
Fund with at least $25 within 60 days of opening.
- $25
- Within 60 days of opening
Direct deposit
Enroll in online/mobile banking and receive at least two qualifying direct deposits totaling $8,000 within 90 days of opening.
- $8,000
- 2 times
- Within 90 days of opening
All tiers
| Bonus | Deposit to qualify | Cash to keep | Choose your target |
|---|---|---|---|
| $250 | Direct deposits: $2,000 in 90 days | No balance requirement | |
| $350 | Direct deposits: $5,000 in 90 days | No balance requirement | |
| $450 | Direct deposits: $8,000 in 90 days | No balance requirement | Selected |
Timeline
Add a date to put the deadlines on a calendar. Only steps timed from opening get a date.
Apply by Nov 10, 2026
Open the account with $25
Direct deposit
Day 90 after opening
Enroll in online/mobile banking and receive at least two qualifying direct deposits totaling $8,000 within 90 days of opening.
Bonus paid
Within 30 days after all requirements are met, while the account has a positive balance.
Money and fees
- Bonus
- $450
- Monthly fees
- $12/month unless waived
- Bonus after fees, before tax
- $414 to $450
Waived with: First two statement periods waived; after that, $1,500 combined monthly direct deposits, $1,500 average balance, age 13–24 or 65+, eligible military/workplace programs, linked eligible cards/business checking, or a qualifying Smart Rewards tier.
Up to $36 if you miss the waiver for about 3 months
Cash to keep in the account
No balance to maintain
Direct deposits: $8,000 in 90 days
Months are estimated from the longest step, about 90 days. Your statement dates can change the count.
After the bonus
- Account type
- Checking
- Monthly fee
- $12/mo
- How to waive it
- First two statement periods waived; after that, $1,500 combined monthly direct deposits, $1,500 average balance, age 13–24 or 65+, eligible military/workplace programs, linked eligible cards/business checking, or a qualifying Smart Rewards tier.
- APY
- Not stated in the terms we reviewed
- Early closure fee
- Not stated in the terms we reviewed
- How to open
- Online
Eligibility
Where it's offered
The bank's terms don't list states. Check availability on the bank's site before applying.
Who can get it
New customers only. If you've had an account with U.S. Bank, check the look-back period in the terms.
No existing U.S. Bank consumer checking account, one closed in the past 12 months, or consumer checking bonus in the past 12 months. Offer may be limited to U.S. Bank footprint; apply through the promotion page or have a banker activate it.
Terms and sources
Checked against usbank.com on Oct 9, 2026. Next check by Oct 23, 2026.
- usbank.com/splash/checking/2026-all-market-checking-offer.htmlCaptured Oct 9, 2026
Offer terms can change. Confirm current eligibility and terms with the bank before applying.