Bank of America

CheckingVerified Oct 9, 2026

Bank of America Advantage SafeBalance Banking: up to $500 bonus

Receive at least $10,000 in qualifying payroll, pension, or government direct deposits within 90 days of opening.

Choose your target

Higher tiers ask for more. Your choice updates the steps, money and timeline.

Direct deposits
$10,000 in 90 days
Cash to keep
No balance requirement
Monthly fee
$4.95/mo, waivable
Apply by
Jan 31, 2027

Selected target

$500

Apply by Jan 31, 2027

View offer at Bank of America

Read the bank's terms · Offer terms can change. Confirm current eligibility and terms with the bank before applying.

Your fit

Add your state, direct deposit and cash to check this offer's conditions against your situation.

  • 1 thing to check: Your history with Bank of America

This checks the published conditions only. The bank decides who is approved.

Steps to earn

Complete all 2 steps for $500

  1. Opening deposit

    Open Advantage SafeBalance Banking with at least $25.

    • $25
  2. Direct deposit

    Receive at least $10,000 in qualifying payroll, pension, or government direct deposits within 90 days of opening.

    • $10,000
    • Within 90 days of opening

All tiers

BonusDeposit to qualifyCash to keepChoose your target
$100Direct deposits: $2,000 in 90 daysNo balance requirement
$300Direct deposits: $5,000 in 90 daysNo balance requirement
$500Direct deposits: $10,000 in 90 daysNo balance requirementSelected

Timeline

Add a date to put the deadlines on a calendar. Only steps timed from opening get a date.

  1. Apply by Jan 31, 2027

  2. Open the account with $25

  3. Direct deposit

    Day 90 after opening

    Receive at least $10,000 in qualifying payroll, pension, or government direct deposits within 90 days of opening.

  4. Bonus paid

    Within 60 days after the 90-day direct-deposit period ends, if the account remains open and in good standing.

Money and fees

Bonus
$500
Monthly fees
$4.95/month unless waived

Waived with: No monthly maintenance fee for eligible account owners under age 25; other waivers may apply under the current account fee schedule.

Up to $14.85 if you miss the waiver for about 3 months

Bonus after fees, before tax
$485.15 to $500

Cash to keep in the account

No balance to maintain

Direct deposits: $10,000 in 90 days

Months are estimated from the longest step, about 90 days. Your statement dates can change the count.

After the bonus

Account type
Checking
Monthly fee
$4.95/mo
How to waive it
No monthly maintenance fee for eligible account owners under age 25; other waivers may apply under the current account fee schedule.
APY
Not stated in the terms we reviewed
Early closure fee
Not stated in the terms we reviewed
How to open
Online

Eligibility

Where it's offered

The bank's terms don't list states. Check availability on the bank's site before applying.

Who can get it

New customers only. If you've had an account with Bank of America, check the look-back period in the terms.

From the bank's terms
Enroll through this offer and open an eligible personal checking account. No personal Bank of America checking ownership in the prior 12 months. Family Banking SafeBalance and fiduciary accounts are excluded.

Terms and sources

Checked against promotions.bankofamerica.com on Oct 9, 2026. Next check by Oct 23, 2026.

Read the bank's terms

Offer terms can change. Confirm current eligibility and terms with the bank before applying.

Similar offers

Editorial disclosure: CardRewards.ai is an independent comparison service. Card data comes from issuers' published terms; catalog last published October 12, 2026, and each card page shows when its terms were last checked. Card issuers do not influence our rankings or content.