Santander Bank

CheckingVerified Oct 9, 2026

Santander Simply Right Checking: up to $500 bonus

Receive at least one qualifying payroll, pension, or government direct deposit within the first 90 days (starting the next business day for a weekend or holiday opening).

Choose your target

Higher tiers ask for more. Your choice updates the steps, money and timeline.

Direct deposits
Required
Cash to keep
$5,000 for 90 days
Monthly fee
$10/mo, waivable
Apply by
Dec 18, 2026

Selected target

$500

Apply by Dec 18, 2026

View offer at Santander Bank

Read the bank's terms · Offer terms can change. Confirm current eligibility and terms with the bank before applying.

Your fit

Add your state, direct deposit and cash to check this offer's conditions against your situation.

  • 1 thing to check: Offered in 9 states only
  • 1 thing to check: Your history with Santander Bank

This checks the published conditions only. The bank decides who is approved.

Steps to earn

Complete all 2 steps for $500

  1. Keep a balance

    Maintain an average daily balance of at least $5,000 over the first 90 days (starting the next business day for a weekend or holiday opening).

    • $5,000
    • Keep it for 90 days
  2. Direct deposit

    Receive at least one qualifying payroll, pension, or government direct deposit within the first 90 days (starting the next business day for a weekend or holiday opening).

All tiers

BonusDeposit to qualifyCash to keepChoose your target
$300Direct deposits: Required$2,000 for 90 days
$500Direct deposits: Required$5,000 for 90 daysSelected

Timeline

Add a date to put the deadlines on a calendar. Only steps timed from opening get a date.

  1. Apply by Dec 18, 2026

  2. Open the account

  3. Keep a balance

    Maintain an average daily balance of at least $5,000 over the first 90 days (starting the next business day for a weekend or holiday opening).

  4. Direct deposit

    Receive at least one qualifying payroll, pension, or government direct deposit within the first 90 days (starting the next business day for a weekend or holiday opening).

  5. Bonus paid

    Within 30 days after the account completes its first 90 days and meets requirements; it must remain open and in good standing.

Money and fees

Bonus
$500
Monthly fees
$10/month unless waived

Waived with: Waived in any month with a posted financial transaction or if an owner is under 26.

Up to $30 if you miss the waiver for about 3 months

Bonus after fees, before tax
$470 to $500

Cash to keep in the account

$5,000 for 90 days

Is moving the money worth it?

Enter the APY that money earns where it is now. We'll subtract the interest you'd give up.

%

Months are estimated from the longest step, about 90 days. Your statement dates can change the count.

After the bonus

Account type
Checking
Monthly fee
$10/mo
How to waive it
Waived in any month with a posted financial transaction or if an owner is under 26.
APY
Not stated in the terms we reviewed
Early closure fee
Not stated in the terms we reviewed
How to open
At a branch

Eligibility

Where it's offered

  • New Hampshire
  • Massachusetts
  • Rhode Island
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • New York
  • New Jersey
  • Pennsylvania
  • Florida

Who can get it

New customers only. If you've had an account with Santander Bank, check the look-back period in the terms.

From the bank's terms
Open in a branch using a promotion code revealed on the offer page. Must be 18+; no owner may have a current Santander checking account or have held one in the past 12 months. Offer is limited to NH, MA, RI, CT, DE, NY, NJ, PA, and select Florida areas: Miami-Dade, Monroe and Broward counties, and ZIP 34141 in Collier County. One bonus per ownership group. Confirm the account opening minimum with Santander.

Terms and sources

Checked against santanderbank.com on Oct 9, 2026. Next check by Oct 23, 2026.

Read the bank's terms

Offer terms can change. Confirm current eligibility and terms with the bank before applying.

Similar offers

Editorial disclosure: CardRewards.ai is an independent comparison service. Card data comes from issuers' published terms; catalog last published October 12, 2026, and each card page shows when its terms were last checked. Card issuers do not influence our rankings or content.